I know we’ve only just met, but there are some things you need to know about me before we journey the next 365 days together.

First, I want you to know that I am determined not to compare you to years past or make you all about being different from your predecessor. I am giving you my full attention. 2013 is gone and so are it’s mistakes ,hardships and unexpected twists and turns. I don’t think it’s fair to you, 2014, to constantly look backwards and say “What will I do differently” and make you a shadow of the year before. Instead I want to look forward and simply ask myself, “What will I do right now? ” You and I only have the present together– just a handful of minutes in front of us–what we do together in these moments will not be tarnished by what has been. We will use our time together to make brave choices, bold decisions, and take risks. We will enjoy every second that we can and look for hope in the ones that we can’t.

Today I know what I’m about, 2014, in a way I have never known before. I don’t need you to live up to any sort of expectations, you’re off the hook. I wont be relying on you to provide a path or light in the dark. I’m not looking to you to bring me what I feel like I deserve, want, wish, hope or pray for. I’m ready to take the steps myself, I only ask that you come along for the ride and we’ll see where we end up together.

Last, I don’t make resolutions and I try not to make promises I don’t believe I can keep, what I can tell you is this: I don’t understand God’s plans, I don’t know where he’s going, but I know I want to go there too. It wont always be pretty and there will be moments when I fall apart. Don’t let this scare you, 2014. However giant the meltdown may be, I am resilient and I wont sit down and give up.

Thanks for your patience in advance.

I’m very glad you are here,

Katie

