Quiet mornings around here are actually “quiet” mornings as I live in an apartment. This apartment is one building with only four units owned by a couple who live in California. They are stunt people in their 30’s. My age.

The couple who live above me have two daughters and, it seems, various step children. Their day (every single one of them including weekends) starts roughly at 6am with the stomping of children, the running of dogs, the doing of laundry and the vacuuming of floors. There are some days I feel slightly less gracious about it than others.

Today it’s alright. I got up early myself to do some chores and arrange some things, so I figure we’ll all just make noise together.

In January I’m going to start working on a book. Just typing that is mildly horrifying to me only because, well. I don’t want to be one of those people who says, “Oh, I’m writing a book” and then it either never comes to be or  it’s cheesy or something. I have no idea if it will be a good book, I have no idea if anything will come of it, I have no idea if anyone will take me seriously when I say, ” I’m writing a book”. I honestly have no idea if I even have any business writing a book.  What I do know is that its something I’ve wanted to do since I was a little girl,     … actually, it’s something I’ve believed would do since I was a little girl. There was never just the wanting to, there was always the certainty that eventually it would happen.  What I also know for the first time in my life is exactly what I want to write and how I want to write it. In the past when I’ve thought of taking on a project like this it’s always gone fuzzy in my mind at some point because it could never quite take shape. This time I can see it with razor sharp clarity and it’s leaking out of me in ways I can hardly contain.

Good sign I think.

Anyway. I’m going to be doing that and I’m not expecting it to be earth shattering, ground-breaking, amazingness. But as a dear friend encouraged, “Everyone must start somewhere. Everyone must have a first so that you eventually get to your best.”

