I haven’t been taking enough time to be alone lately
I can feel it in my head and my mood. I am a person who needs space and time to process things and to recoup energy spent in social settings and groups.

This is a socially intense time of year for me. I have had weeks and weeks and more weeks of having places to be and people to see and it’s a very good thing. A very, very good thing, but it’s also exhausting.

It’s funny to me. I will feel myself getting emotionally tense, feeling short tempered and irratable, and wanting to cry over things that really shouldn’t be tear inducing. And I always think, “Ugh what’s wrong with me?!” It’s not until I find myself in a moment of alone time that and my whole being seems to sigh with relief that I realize that I just need some space.

Space for me rarely involves shutting myself up in my apartment and not coming out for long periods of time. For me really good alone time usually involves popping headphones in at Starbucks, listening to inspiring music and writing or taking walks in the park where there are other people jogging, running, walking, swinging, and yoga class is probably one of the best places. Everything is quiet and we are alone and together all at the same time.

There are times when I would like to shelter in my own apartment for a while though. I’m trying to create a space for that… I have to have designated places for things. I don’t like to write sitting on my bed, because bed is for sleeping and I neither want to feel sleepy while I write, or have my head spinning while I am trying to sleep. Right now what was my “office” is my sister’s bedroom, so I think I need to find a way to make a writing desk work in my room so that when I want to be at home I have an official, out of the way, space to think and write and all of that good stuff.

I hope everyone is having a good Wednesday so far.

