This time of year brings SO much business.

So many projects.

Weddings.

It’s crazy.

This past weekend I had the great honor and pleasure of being involved in the wedding of a dear friend. Our families have been close for as long as I can remember. We have weathered many storms together, laughed together, shared front porches, deep conversations and a lot of beer and wine over time.

What I loved about this wedding was how much it felt like a family gathering to witness a important step being taken. It was special and I’m really glad I was there for it.

We’re all born into a family, but I think sometimes it’s the families we make for ourselves that are the greatest blessings God gives us. Building families whose bonds are fused by love rather than blood is an inheritance passed down from one generation to the next. Somewhere along the way someone has to teach you what it means to be a person who creates family. Someone has to instill in you the attitude of adoption.  It’s bigger than just acceptance, tolerance, or basic kindness. The type of love that adopts says, “Come inside and be one of us.” 

I am so glad that this is a gift that has been given to me. I feel so blessed to get to love the family of people God’s put in my life and honored to be loved by them as well.

