IMG_9676Last night I had plans to go out with some friends that fell through. After the call came in that we would have to reschedule I experienced a moment of revelation in my reaction.

First I felt relieved because the truth is my schedule right now is amazingly packed and the prospect of having several hours of unassigned time that I could devote to pajama wearing, reading, eating soup and being part of the People Of The Second Chance live Twitter event was like telling me I had just won the lottery.

Next I realized that it didn’t disappoint me at all that I had gotten dressed and made up to go out and it was effort wasted now. I mean, I still had to go to the grocery store.

And my last thought, “Oh man!! I put eyeliner on for this!!!” And these days putting eye liner on is the the mark of having made effort because I don’t know if it’s just me or this particular eyeliner, but it’s ridiculously hard to get off and so whatever I’m putting it on for has to be worth the effort it takes later before I want to go to sleep to take it off.

It’s interesting how much my priorities have shifted in the last five years. I’m tempted, sometimes, to think of them as having shifted from one thing to something better, but I don’t really think that’s true. I think some priorities have grown out of others, some have changed completely, but I can’t, for instance, blame myself for setting aside so much time 2 or 3 years ago to put on makeup when that was my main focus at that time and it’s ok that it was my focus then.

Just because I have reached a place in my life where I feel better about myself with less makeup on and I have things I am more passionate about that fill the time I used to be doing makeup in, doesn’t mean that time was for nothing. I learned a lot about myself, people and God in that season.

It just amazes and kind of thrills me (when I let it) to be able to see the progress and how those steps led me to this season where I’m writing and cultivating relationships and understanding what I was made to do. And you know the really awesome part is, even though writing and speaking and being a leader is different than wearing a lot of makeup and glitter, I wouldn’t be doing the things I am now without having had the experience of doing makeup.

Interesting.

So anyway, I did have to go to the grocery store last night, and while I was in there a man walked up to me and gave me an orchid plant. I have mentioned it here before, but I am a death sentence to plants so I’m a little worried that this poor plant is doomed. I read the care instructions and apparently it’s only supposed to bloom for 40 days and then I just have to water it once in a while and six months from now it will rebloom.

Ha.

I’ll let you know how that goes in six months.

