Today we celebrated Tessa Cait’s 5th birthday.
I love all of my nieces and nephews, but I definitely feel I am closest to Tessa. Maybe because I lived with her parents when she was born, maybe because she came into the world with such a bang and I got to be present for it, or maybe because we are alike in some ways? I don’t know, but what I do know is that I am so grateful to God for giving me a niece who loves art, who draws MIckey Mouse like a pro, who loves animals and speaks a secret language to them…. seriously they love her, and whose smile makes you feel like the world is a wonderful and mysterious world full of joy and mirth and beauty.

Thank you God for giving us Tessa.
I hope that your deep, deep love for her is something she always feels and knows is real.
I hope that she grows to love you back and to use the gifts you’ve given her to bind herself to you in everything she does.
I hope that you use me to show Tessa who you are every day.

=)

20130901-214803.jpg

