You’ve held your head up
You’ve fought the fight
You bear the scars
You’ve done your time
Listen to me
You’ve been lonely, too long

Let me in the walls
You’ve built around
We can light a match
And burn them down
Let me hold your hand
And dance ’round and ’round the flames
In front of us
Dust to dust

Today was a beautiful day.

This morning I had coffee with my sister, Kaylan, at a little place on the square here in Georgetown. It was quiet and cool outside and we sat and shared a danish and chatted and then went to Hobby Lobby to find knobs for my dresser (which I will post pictures of later).

After that I met with another friend and braved the crowds at Ikea to find decorations for the Graffiti (youth) room.  We found some fun stuff and enjoyed good conversation.

I got to squeeze my nieces and nephew and talk to them about all of the interesting things they had been up to this afternoon. Tessa’s 5th birthday party is tomorrow afternoon and she is hardcore into making sure that she has every princessy thing in order (including making the request for my Dad to wear a “pretty-pretty dress”). I am kind of excited about her gift… Tessa loves My Little Ponies and I found new ones that are COVERED in glitter. I’ve been providing ponies for her for some time, so I’m pretty happy about these new additions.

This evening I went with my friend Sarah and her husband Mark to a pond on Mark’s boss’ property to let our dogs run and play. I think Zeke is going to be fast friends with Mark and Sarah’s dogs (Penny and Kate). They ran and ran and ran some more, and leaped in the water, swam and rolled around in the tall grass. It was beautiful. There was quiet, setting sun, good friends, happy dogs, and Mark and Sarah’s little guy having fun. It was the perfect way to unburden my heart after a rough day yesterday. I love how God knows that I need that sort of thing in order to feel right in the world again.

Last, but certainly not least I wandered Target (where I found the ponies I mentioned earlier) and talked. It was a short trip, as trips to Target go, but it was still a nice way to close the evening.

The lyrics to the Civil Wars song Dust to Dust have been stuck in my head all day, particularly the second verse and course I quoted at the beginning of this entry. I think I understand some things today that I didn’t yesterday, and I think God has been trying to teach me some things. Today I listened a lot more than I have in a while. Listening is good.

So now all that remains is to watch friends until I feel sleepy enough to drift off. I hope that your Saturday was as bless with small wonders, comforts, and signs of love as mine was.

 

