photo (20)This is the most important thing you can know about today… and possibly the most hilarious view of my day. That’s my Zeke having a FABULOUS time at the dog park. He was fantastic, well behaved, played nicely with others. I so totally am not one of those people, but I totally felt like a proud mom on the first day of school watching. Ugh.

There are moments when I think I was crazy for thinking that I could handle not only a second dog, but a larger second dog. There are moments when I think I’m going to lose my mind in frustration at the messes, the accidents, the chewing. But then I have an afternoon like this and realize that all the things that I’m getting frustrated with are mild compared to bigger things going on in the world, that they take up literally seconds of my attention, not years, that they remind me why patience is a virtue and that they make the moments where I’m watching my handsome puppy run in a way that can only be described as joyful all the more amazing.

Joy is something that has been missing from my life.

That’s not to imply that I have been horribly unhappy, I have been happy… but not joyful and watching Zeke be the dog God created him to be, as cheesy as that might sound, give me great joy and I like feeling that.

Hard things are going to come, lately I’ve been assaulted with so much emotion that I don’t know what to do with, there are moments when I feel like I’m drowning in it. I need to remember to take time for joy, though. It makes a huge difference.

