These guys. =)

These guys. =)

I got to spend the weekend with 11 crazy/talented/compassionate/caring/thoughtful/loving/hilarious kids and 2 hard-working/dedicated/amazing leaders.

We did a LOT over the weekend. Lots of outdoor fun, lots of playing sardines in the dark. Lots of laughing and screaming (and at one point running for our lives… except embarrassingly it was only me running for my laugh… from a sensor flush toilet, which in the dark is scary).

The Ladies

The Ladies

I had a fantastic time getting to know the kids better and it’s really neat to get to see them function as a group, they are supportive of one another and encouraging. I liked seeing how everyone had a role to play, whatever we were doing, and they worked together. I learned a lot about and from these kids this weekend and I’m happy to have missed sleep and been exhausted for it. Totally worth it!

 

In other news… I’m seven days away from flying to California and I can’t wait. I have today to get some rest and to help sort out some family stuff, and then it’s all about laundry and packing and getting my sister moved into my second bedroom (which I know I’ve barely said a word about here, but it’s happening).

Every time I travel I say I’m going to try to pack light. I am saying it again now, but making no promises.

 

