photo (10)I don’t know why I’ve felt so quotey lately, but that’s where I’m at so you’ll all just have to deal with it (which I mean in the friendliest way possible.) Last night while I was looking something up I came across this C.S. Lewis quote. I loves some C.S. Lewis. <3. This one made me think.

“We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be.”
— C.S. Lewis

I’m not sure what gave me the impression as a young person that whatever I wanted, God would always have the opposite in mind for me. I know that this impression didn’t intentionally come from my parents, and some of it did come intentionally from some of the leaders I was exposed to at the time. However the seed was planted, it took root and grew and I’ve spent quite a lot of time trying to rip it out. I think though that what I’ve learned is that my time is better spent in building my relationship with God in a way that makes it possible for me to know which of my desires are God-given, rather than trying to root out the idea that none of them are. It’s a slow process, let me tell you.

