IMG_5368 I’m finding myself quoting things and people in various places today. I’m going to do it again here in a minute.

SO Jason Mraz was a thing for me as I was in my late teens early 20’s. I thought he was cute, which is odd because he’s a total stoner and I’m not really into the whole stoner thing. At the time I didn’t realize it or I was in denial, I’m not sure which. I can be naive when it comes to certain types of things (just ask Kristin about the first time I went to a major music festival and couldn’t understand why the places smelled the way it did).

Anyway, over time Jason Mraz kind of went the way of Alanis “I’m-Upset” (yes, I stole that nickname from HIMYM). I still have a special place in my heart for some of the music because it reminds me of being a very young adult and not in a bad way either. I like remembering why certain songs were significant to me at the time, and the memories are nice because I realize how simple things were at that point, how much more complicated they would get later on, but it doesn’t make me sad because, well, that’s life and I have survived so far.

Anyway, all of that to say, I don’t listen to much of Jason Mraz’ newer stuff, but I still think he’s a good song writer. I Wont Give Up is one of his new songs that I do occasionally listen to, though.  I like the sentiment of this part, specifically, so I’m sharing it.

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences they do a lot to teach us how to use
The tools and gifts we got, yeah, we got a lot at stake
And in the end, you’re still my friend at least we did intend
For us to work we didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not, and who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up, still looking up.

 

