In an effort to be more healthy and more sane I’ve started going to pilates and yoga classes with my good friend Sarah.

I’ve done both pilates and yoga before, but always at home. I don’t know, for some reason I was intimidated of taking classes, I didn’t like the idea of having to get a gym membership to go to classes either.  I really, really, reallyreallyreallyreally, don’t like gyms. I don’t want to sound like I’m casting judgement on everyone who goes into them, but gyms make me uncomfortable and I don’t end up going. I don’t know how the idea struck me but sometime a couple months ago I remembered that the Georgetown Recreation Center offered various classes, started talking to Sarah about them and eventually decided to attend.

Best. Decision. Ever.

I LOVE the Rec Center! The feeling walking in is so different than going into a gym… instead of a sense of competition, you feel a sense of community. There’s no judgement, the people inside seem, well, happy.  The classes are mixed ages and mixed levels of ability, but you never feel left out or left behind, it’s OK to laugh at yourself, and feel good about what you’re learning and you don’t even really stop to compare how you’re doing compared to someone else. Which, let me tell you, is really saying something coming from me because I am very competitive and very hard on myself.

I can’t even begin to say how much I look forward to getting to go to class now, how grateful I am that Sarah invited me to that first class, and how awesome the people in the classes and the teachers are.

