I just tweeted that effective immediately I would be avoiding Facebook and twitter news feeds due to the mother’s day well-wishing going on in both places. I don’t want to rain on anyone’s parade and this mother’s day is hard for me and my family. It’s our first year without a mom here to celebrate and it’s the anniversary of a time in our lives that changed everything.

That said, I do want to take a moment to also say that my mom was an amazing, strong, convicted, and passionate woman and I miss her very much. We fought a lot, she could make me furious faster than anyone else I know, but I know she loved me, I know that she was proud of me even when she didn’t say it.

Mom mom isn’t here this mother’s day, but I do have many beautiful, courageous, and strong woman in my life to celebrate. Some are mothers, some are not, but all of them have helped me be strong over the last several months and I’d like to say thank you.

