The newest stack of boxes

I’d really love to be able to give you some kind of update that doesn’t have to do with moving… or at the very least to give you the post-move update (you know it’s gonna come), but apparently time has decided to d r a g.

So far packing is going alright. I’m horrible at change and disruption to my usual routine, and because of that I go overboard on trying to be prepared. It’s ridiculous, and I can admit that, but it doesn’t stop me from wanting a detailed list of everything that’s in each box. When I moved to Dallas I did that… this time I’ve made an effort to be ever so slightly less of a nutcase and have been labeling my boxes in code (you know, because I don’t want a random person stumbling upon a box that reads JEWELRY) instead.

I seem to be making reasonable time, even with my obsessive labeling, it’s just the having everything out of place that keeps me from sleeping at night. The end is near, my friends. I just have to make it until Tuesday.

This is what google image searching "30" will get you.

As of March 16th, I will officially be… well, not twenty-something anymore. I have mixed feelings about this. I don’t feel the panic setting in that I hear people describe when talking about turning 30. I’m not going to lie, however, and say that I’m totally comfortable with it either.

Maybe it’s just that my youngest sister, Kaylan, has been calling me 30 for a year already and I’m just used to the sound, but I’m no freaking out, I’m just… concerned?

There’s a portion of me that feels relieved… I remember a certain friend of mine accusing me when I was barely in my twenties of acting 30 (and it was not a compliment) and it hurt at the time.

In a lot of ways I had to grow up earlier than some of my peers, and there were many reasons for that that I’m not going to dig up right now, I mention it to say that there have been times in my life where I felt at odds with my peers because I simply saw life differently, not better or worse, just differently. Now, in one sense, I finally feel as though I have permission to feel at ease, with myself and others around me.

On the other hand, biological clocks are no joke! Don’t misunderstand me, I’m not looking for sperm donors or anything like that. It’s just that before when I thought about  wanting to get married and have children it was something I thought of doing “in the future”, so I really didn’t need to think about it. I’m not putting pressure on myself, but the truth is, things get harder moving forward and I do want to get married and have children, and turning 30 is making me think about that… and the fact that I have some gray hair (don’t as to see, I WILL punch you), and I notice my wrinkles now (not that there are many… and don’t ask to see those either).

Mardi Gras part at work

The good news is that I still get to do makeup like this… so, at least at first glance, no one is going to guess that I’m 30 and I might be able to avoid peer pressure about what I’m going to “do with my life”.

We had a Mardi Gras party at work on Saturday and this was my “mask”.  Going back to my friends comment about acting like I was 30… I don’t think either of us would have ever guessed that I would a.) be able to bring myself to go out in public like this, b.) make a living out of being in public like this, or c.) that I would really enjoy it.

So see, I’ve grown… I’m never going to be the type of person who will condone acting like a jack-ass in a restaurant, but I have no problem sitting next to you covered in glitter while you act like one.

Here’s to being moved, 30 and dirty, and sparkling through it all. =)

