My sister, Kristin, has apparently become a master fire builder.

I rarely make overly personal posts, but I’m home and it seems an OK time for one.

I’m home for a couple of days as it’s Harry Potter week.  My sisters and I have a tradition of seeing the midnight premiere of two things: Harry Potter and Twilight.

Right now I’m curled up on the couch with my 6-year-old-niece and her purple stuffed kitten from the “bestibul” (festival), Cutesy-Violet. After Shel is dropped off at school, it’s off to breakfast with Dad and the sisters ( I have no idea where my brother is) and then some Christmas shopping (which I can promise a blog about because I’m going to one of my favorite shopping destinations, the San Marcos outlet mall).

I love this picture for some reason (Shelby and Caden)

Yesterday was all about relaxing. I have a little bit of a cold (which I seem to be recovering from fairly quickly) but I wanted to just take it easy and enjoy my family. I went to Shelby’s Thanksgiving Feast at her school at lunch time and then spent the rest of the day hanging out with littlest niece, Tessa,  nephew Cash, Kristin and my Dad. Then visiting with friends and family around the fire in the evening. It was great to have some time away from work and Dallas-speed.

Sometimes the absence of my Mom’s presence is shocking… I’ll hear a noise and think it’s her coming into a room for just a second, then the truth hits. It’s not her and it will never be her ever again, as much as I love my family, and I do love them more than anything in the world, home will never be the same without Mom.

 

