The Eyeshadow Drawer

I know, I am way behind when it comes to jumping on this band wagon, but it’s not without good reason. Over there, to the left… that’s my eyeshadow drawer. There’s a back row that isn’t even visible (and that doesn’t include large palettes or all the shadows I’ve put into “back stock” who live in my train case. With this visual in mind, one might be able to understand why I haven’t previously ventured into this realm of cosmetics, that is, unless you already know what I know now, which is that there is always room for Ben Nye.

Out of the goodness of her heart, my dear co-worker, Melanie, introduced me to Ben Nye products in person today, and I’m afraid that I’m going to now consider most of the pigments I’ve used before as simply a gateway drug; Ben Nye is the real deal.

So far I’ve only played with my purchases, so it’s not time for a real review yet, however, I do what to give you a peek at what I started with (I’m sure there will be much more to come).

Ben Nye haul... and lashes =)

So this is what I started out with, from top to bottom: Ben Nye Aqua Glitter in Fuchsia and Neon Green, Glamour Eyez Lashes, Ben Nye Lumiere Luxe Powder in Azalea, Ben Nye Pressed Eye Shadow in Celestial Bleu and White (both of these are matte), and Ben Nye Lumiere Grande Colour in Turquoise.

Trust me when I tell you that I wanted to buy everything they had… in pairs, but I was trying to reign myself in, give myself something to try and then work from there. Pure, saturated pigment just casts such a spell over me that I can hardly help myself.

Anyway, I think I did  decent job, and we’ll see how it goes. From what I tested in the store, however, I can’t imagine it will be anything but wonderful!

Here’s an up close view of the Aqua Glitters… I’m really excited about these, I don’t have to tell you how glitter makes my heart flutter. These are very pretty, very reflective, and light weight (as far as I can tell, I haven’t had them on my face yet). I’m hoping that, as well as look lovely on their own, that they will also serve as a good base for lose glitters as well. They do sell the glitter glue alone (these just already have the glitter mixed in), so if it’s easy to work with, and works well over shadow, I’ll probably go back for just the glue.

All and all, I’m really excited about getting to try these products, it’s nice to fit something new in. If you have favorite Ben Nye products, please feel free to tell me about them!

