I recently had the opportunity to try out the GHD Professional Styling Iron… which is beauty speak for “Flat Iron”.  Before I get into the details, I want to say that I’m not big into straightening my hair because it’s really straight on it’s own and I’m not a big fan of the stick straight look that I get from flat ironing, I was more interested in it for the curling potential, moving on…

It seems that while CHI still is the reigning king of flat irons, GHD is making it’s mark. Instead of drawing this out I’m just going to lay down some facts and some pros and cons and let you serious straighteners make up your own minds.

Facts:

  • GHD stylers offer the latest heat technology
  • even heat distribution for the smoothest of smooth stying
  • 1″ plates (on the iron I tried)
  • 9′ tangle-free cord
  • 30 minute auto shut off
  • universal voltage
  • 2 year warranty

So the pros…

  • This thing heats exceptionally fast, which just made it easier for me to see myself using it more regularly because I’m exceptionally impatient and usually can’t be bothered by anything that takes too long to heat.
  • Curling with it was very easy!
  • The styler glided right through my hair and didn’t snag at all, which is something I’ve hated about every other flat iron I’ve used.
  • The curl held really well!

And cons…

  • The curls were easy… once I’d figured out the tricky business of how much hair to try to curl at one time, there is, apparently, a very fine line between too little and too much.
  • I don’t see this straighter as a single pass tool… and honestly, I have a little trouble with people expecting that from any styling tool. I have a lot of hair, but it’s relatively fine for the amount I have and straightening out the curls from the day before took more than one pass.

All and all, I believe GHD is definitely competition for CHI and a better choice… I just wouldn’t recommend it for someone with fine hair. Unless you have a lot of extra cash lying around and you just feel like spending over $200 on a flat iron, this product is going to be more appreciated by people with thicker, courser hair.

