Dinner: Spaghetti in vodka sauce and an orange.

Every week I end up at the grocery store 3 or 4 times. I look into my pantry, see nothing to make (more accurately, nothing I want to make) and head to the store.

I have a sneaky feeling that this is like losing change in the sofa cushions. You don’t notice it while it’s happening, but one day you clean it out and find a small fortune hiding in there.

I found myself wondering if perhaps, now that it is officially sun dress season, if I would have more spare change for new clothes, if I weren’t buying random groceries 3 and 4 times a week? Hmmmm intriguing.

So I went to my pantry and my refrigerator and began an investigation. AHA! There was food in there… now just what to do with it?  While there was plenty, it seemed rather like a lot of odds and ends. So I took my query  to the internet and began google searches with phrases such as “what can you make with [insert ingredient name here]”.  In the end I found that I had a lot to eat and no reason to run to the store (except for some extra milk and eggs). What’s more is that my pantry and fridge were filled with exciting meals I’ve never cooked before! This news inspired me to a challenge… which is the reason for this post.

For the next week I am going to be cooking with what I have and blogging about how it goes.  I’m starting tonight, but I’ll admit the food isn’t interesting yet… spaghetti with vodka sauce and an orange were already on the menu for dinner before I decided to try to make *interesting food out of what I already had.

*Note that I did say interesting food and not delicious food… I certainly hope what I come up with turns out delicious, but I’m not making any promises. =)

