Now that I’ve got this figured out, I can say with pride that I will never eat boxed Macaroni and Cheese again!

I don’t like a lot of fuss when it comes to cheese and noodles. When an adult is prepared to eat this kind of dish it usually falls under the category of “comfort food” and thus I believe it’s better as it is than trussed up as something worthy of grown up appetite.

I searched my recipe apps for simple recipes and came up emptied handed, so I decided… to wing it (gasp!!).  I know a little bit about cheese, and a little bit about noodles, and a make a mean white sauce, so I decided to give it a go, in spite of the fact that cooking on instinct has rarely found it’s self to be a good idea. Fortunately this turned out to be one of those instances where it all worked out. Bare with me as I relay the recipe to you, I didn’t exactly use proper measuring instruments =).

I used:

  • half a box of Macaroni noodles
  • 3tbs of butter
  • 1/3 cup of flour
  • 1 cup of milk
  • a cup of cubed Velveeta Cheese (don’t judge, it was the easiest thing I could find)

Cooked the noodles as directed, drained and set aside. Melted the butter in a sauce pan, then carefully stirred in the flour a little at a time until it almost made a paste and let it cook while stirring for about a minute. Over low heat, slowly stirred in milk until the mixture began to thicken and then added the cubed cheese until melted, then stirred noodles into cheese sauce. and that’s it!

