I’ve been on a green kick lately… well, to be honest, varieties of green have always been some of my favorite colors to play with. I can remember, even when I was a little girl, I would get the big box of crayons and count out exactly how many different greens there were and then use them to shade all kinds of things in my coloring books. In light of that it doesn’t seem too surprising that greens and blues are my favorite shadow colors to wear.

I’m always on the lookout for new colors in the green/blue range so when Tarnina Tarantino came out with her Tokyo Hardcore Fashion Collect, I couldn’t resist. The picture in the link doesn’t do this shadow justice. It’s a bright, almost neon, lime green.  The texture of the shadow is amazing, it’s a matte shadow with a slight glitter in it and it’s amazingly pigmented, it definitely, needs a primer though (Kat Von D’s new shadow primer is fantastic.)

greeeeeeen

I’m also in love with Kat Von D’s make line (I may use her High Frequency Mascara for the rest of my life), so I used it to help create this eye.

  1. I started with Kat Von D High Voltage Shadow Primer all over the lid up to the brow bone.
  2. From Kat Von D’s Memento Mori shadow palette I use the greeny-gold shade, Sugar Skull to highlight my brow and the inner corner of my eye.
  3. I covered the entire lid and up to meet Sugar Skull with Tarina Tarantino’s Tokyo Hardcore Eye Dream Hypershadow. You really want to press this shadow onto your lid. Think of it as pressing it into the shadow primer.
  4. In the outer corner  and into the crease I used Peggy (the teal color) from Kat Von D’s Memento Mori palette, and then just to add definition I used Hard Luck (dark green) from Memento Mori to outline the outer corn and crease color.
  5. To give it a little punch, in the inner corner moving towards the center of my lid, I used www.glittergaloreandmore.com’s  Reflecks glitter in silver. This is a freeze dried calcium glitter and gives the most amazing shine… which unfortunately in the picture you can just barely see. Even though the glitter’s name is silver, it’s pretty translucent and picks up the color of whatever is under it.
  6. Lined with Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Zero/ mascara- Kat Von D High Frequency in Lucifer.

An alternate look

Here’s an alternate look using the exact same colors. The only difference here is that I didn’t use the glitter, all of the shadows, liner and mascara are exactly the same.

