This is going to get more interesting, I swear. This weekend my sisters came into town and we went to Six Flags Over Texas. I haven’t been to a theme park in ages, it was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed their visit, but it wore me out! On top of that I’m on a strange work schedule right now, so just hang in there with me, pah pah pah pahlease!

Stuck in 5 o’clock traffic yesterday, I was wracking my brain for some kind of idea for a new recipe to try for today’s blog. The idea is to try something new every week and normally I would have done my research over the weekend and made my food decision then, but having my sisters with me all weekend was too much of a distraction to give me time for things like looking up recipes (I mean come on, we were TOTALLY busy… taking picture of ourselves in photobooth).

As it turns out, sitting in traffic is not conducive to making meal choices, so once I was in the grocery store, I sent a frantic text to a friend and between his suggestion and something I found on a recipe app, I put together the following:

MMMMMmmmm

Feta Chicken Burger and Seasoned Lentils!

First I want to say that the seasoned lentils were my friends idea, I just want to make credit clear right away because I know how he feels about feta and I wouldn’t want to be attributing that portion to his culinary genius.

Someday I’m going to find better food lighting because this picture doesn’t do the food justice and there are veggies on that burger you can’t even see!  Anyway …

Feta Chicken Burger:

1 lb ground chicken

1/2 cup Feta cheese

a pinch of salt and pepper

Mix the ground chicken, feta, salt, and pepper in a bowl and then form into patties (it should make about 4) (you might want to use more care than I did… mine were misshapen and it was sad). I have a feeling that these are best when grilled over an open flame, but as I have no such grill, and am afraid of burning my house down, I popped mine under the broiler for about 15 minutes on each side.

Lentils:

4 cups veggie broth

2 cups lentils

Seasoning

I brought my lentils and veggie broth to a boil, then I added salt, pepper, garlic, red pepper flakes, and basil to the broth, turned down the heat and let it all simmer for about 15 minutes until the lentils were soft (BUT NOT MUSH!) I don’t think there are particular rules to seasoning lentils, just add what sounds good to you!

Over all, this was a very tasty last-minute meal and healthy too!

