This weekend is the annual Beauty Live event at Galleria Dallas mall in Dallas Tx. As this is the mall I work in, and my employer (who continues to remain nameless ;>) is very much involved in this event, I get to experience it all and take you guys with me!

All weekend long there will be presentations by leading beauty industry professionals and demonstrations going on (if you’re in the Dallas area I would recommend checking it out, vendors are giving away all sorts of stuff!!) and I’m going to do my best to keep you posted about everything going on in my corner of the mall!

Sarah Lucero of Stila

The first  presentation I got to see today was by Stila. In the picture to the left is Stila artist Sarah Lucero. Stila did makeup for a runway show for Betsy Johnson and Sarah demonstrated the look they used in the show.  The Betsy Johnson show featured  dark eyes and glossy lips, Sarah demonstrated the look on one of her models and taught the audience how to achieve the runway look at home.

I was super excited when I learned that Sarah was going to be in the store. I’ve been a fan of her work for some time now and I love reading quotes of hers from magazines. She’s a lovely person, very nice, very down to earth. I consider her a celebrity, but she certainly doesn’t think of herself that way, so she’s very easy to talk to and I really enjoyed having the opportunity to meet her. If you get a chance, check out Stila’s new One Step Foundation. It’s a beautiful, HD, foundation suitable for all skin types, with some really great new technology!

In between presentation sessions Sephora Pro Beauty team members were set up do do free makeup consultations. Clients were given one on one time with Sephora Pros to learn tips and tricks for achieving the perfect makeup look.

One of the great things about Sephora is that they do offer opportunities like this to their clients and for free!  I was really excited to meet the Pro Beauty Team, I really admire and look up to them and they were all really friendly and totally approachable.  I’m always really impressed when people in this industry manage not to get an attitude. I mean, let’s face it, working in an industry that revolves around the way people look can be pretty tough.  It would be really easy to become a little stuck up, but I’m happy to report that all of the team members I met today were amazing and a big help!

The DJ

This is the DJ we have for the weekend. I wanted to give him a little shout out because he was doing a really awesome job and it was so nice to have a break from the music we hear everyday. The energy in the store was great and everyone was having a lot of fun. I want to say that on the back of his computer there it says you can find him on twitter under Sober1. I could be wrong, but I’ll do a little research tomorrow when I get home and correct this post if I need to (after I’ve had a good nights rest, because today wore me out!.

Kyan Douglas

Last, and the hottest, Kyan Douglas (formerly of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy) gave a presentation for HerCut . HerCut’s revolutionary hairstyling “catalysts” use cutting edge technology to help your hair act the way it was cut to act. It’s pretty cool stuff. I’ve never been much of a fan of styling products but the HerCut Catalysts are really some of the nicest styling products I’ve ever tried… and I’m not just saying that cause Kyan’s hot. My biggest complaint with 95% of styling products is that I can feel them in my hair and I hate that gunky, or cruchy kind of feel, the Catalysts from HerCut don’t give that feel to your hair. They stay soft and just give your hair that little extra something.

So that’s it for day one… I’m going to include a little collection of other random photos from today at the end of this post and then of course tomorrow night you’ll get a recap of day 2! Adios!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

