I know I have been a bit absent here the last couple of weeks, but I’ve been trying to adjust to my surroundings, and I think I’ve found a rhythm that will allow me to adjust and write at the same time.

I know, always excuses.

A couple of days ago I was talking to my sister on the phone and she was asking me about the differences in the people here vs. the people in Austin.

I can admit when I moved here I didn’t really expect there to be that much of a difference. I would tell people from Austin that I was moving and they would nod and wish me luck and things like that. So it never really occurred to me to think that things would be different.  I was wrong.

The first thing I noticed upon being in Dallas was the rush, people move around fast here, whether they are walking, driving, talking, doesn’t matter, they are always in a hurry.  I suppose if you grew up in a bigger city, something like that might not really phase you the way it did me, but after that realization there were many more to come.  I’m not going to list them all here, but one I do want to focus on is the way the women of Dallas dress.

Now, before I get into this, I feel it’s only fair to warn you that I am about to really show my roots, which might be shocking to you, as it shocked me when I came face to face with it.

Previously I thought I was pretty chic, I love dresses and skirts, and taking an hour to get dressed. Being a short girl, I do have a deep love and appreciation, and a high tolerance for wearing high heels. I’ve put a lot of effort into wearing them, I’ve done research on how to wear them correctly and comfortably, I’ve done laundry, dishes, vacuuming in heels just so that I could walk gracefully in them when I went out.

Then I came to Dallas.

Imagine for a moment how horrifying it was to suddenly find myself upstaged by 14 year-olds. Oh yes, women in Dallas wear heels… all day, everyday, no matter what the weather, the event they’re going to, or what the rest of their out-fit might otherwise suggest would be appropriate.  I should also mention that by women I mean anyone female and able to walk, a couple of days ago there was a 6 year-old in my store wearing a pair. 6 YEAR-OLD.

Not only are these women always (I can’t stress that point enough) sporting an extra couple of inches… but they are also always dressed (you know what I mean.) I hesitate to say “dressed up” because to me that implies a certain element  of class, and forgive me Dallas readers, but a good many of the ensembles I’ve seen have been decidedly class-less. However, there’s no denying that a great deal of thought and planning went into these elaborate outfits.  To top it all of, they wear more makeup than I ever believed possible… which you’d think would be kind of thrilling. Ha.

My first impulse was to feel a little challenged and like I was going to have to step up my game, and then to my totally shock and amazement, what I felt next… which is completely unlike me given my tendency towards competitiveness… was exhausted. Absolutely and utterly exhausted.

Instead of going home and plotting how I would live up to and exceed these (ahem) high standards, I found myself wearing less makeup (!?!?!!?!) , and coming home to put on jeans, a t-shirt, and flip-flops.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love my dresses and come real summer time, that’s what I’ll be wearing, but as of this moment my heels are still packed safely in their boxes and I feel absolutely no desire to pull them out, slip on a pair and tidy up the house.  I don’t have time between work and taking walks to the Home Depot nursery to look at new plants I want to add to my ever-growing container garden.  Because that’s another HUGE difference between Dallas and Austin. Apparently people in Dallas don’t care about plants. I first learned this in a training session at work in which I was very relieved to find out the Oak used in a particular product comes from a tree farm and no trees are harmed in the process of retrieving the part of the bark they use, and I looked up to see my co-workers looking at me like I had 3 heads.

I have been cutting my primping time short these days, and spending time learning about how to take care of my plants, making a small compost bin out of a bucket, and doing yoga.

I’m from Austin. I might be a tree hugger. I might turn out to be scary plant lady when

This is the compost bin I made and one of my little plants.

I’m old. But what I can say for sure is, in years to come when the ladies of Dallas have osteoporosis and their faces are frozen in a Botox smile, at least I’ll still be able to walk to Home Depot in my flip-flops and sundress.

