One thing that I’ve seen a lot more of in Dallas than I ever saw in Austin is the effects of cosmetic surgery. Yesterday I had a client come in who’d just had her nose done. It was extremely difficult not to stare at her and wonder, “Why, God, why?”  What you could around the brace and the bandaging made you imagine what it would feel like to have your face driven over by a train. Of course, due to high doses of strong pain killers, she was in a really pleasant mood.

On a daily basis I see a lot of plastic, botox-injected, faces now. You can always tell the ones who’ve had work done because their faces are kind of frozen in an awkward smile. Even when they’re upset about something you still have this look of slight amusement to deal with.

It was my intention, when I first started writing this blog entry, to do a little research and see just exactly how some common plastic surgery procedures were done. I started with Rhyinoplasty (aka The Nose Job) on wikipedia, but as it happened I was also eating breakfast at the same time.  Not smart, Katie. One thing I can tell you is that seeing and reading about people’s faces being cut into and mushed around while trying to swallow is virtually impossible.

If you’d like to know the gory details, you have my blessing to search wikipedia on your own, I’ve decided in favor of breakfast and am taking my thoughts in another direction. Why do we want to do things things to ourselves? I suppose the answer to that isn’t really all that complex. No one wants to get old, no one wants to look old, and everyone has something about themselves that they’d like to change… and some people have the money to actually make that change happen.

Having your nose completely reshaped seems so drastic, but really, how different is it from “lesser” modifications? I’ve seen my fair share of body modification. I’ve changed

"obscurum absum planto via pro lux lucis" (roughly, "the absence of darkness lights the path")

my hair color about a million times,  I have my ears pierced (twice… and my cartilage is done in one ear), my nose is pierced, I have one tattoo (and I’m getting another soon).  And while that still isn’t on the same scale as, say, the guy who has horns imbedded in his skull, or being tattooed from head to toe. They’re still modification and I wonder just how different the motivation behind my modifications are from someone who wants Jennifer Aniston’s nose… (who’s nose, if I’m not mistaken, isn’t hers either).  I wish that I could say that because I want to get another tattoo for my 29th birthday, that I can understand why someone might want to give themselves a new nose, but the truth is I can’t make that connection. After the client I mentioned earlier left the store, one of the trainers who was in, an older woman, mentioned that she was thinking of having her nose done, and all I could think was, “You’ve had that nose for 60 years already, why would you want to ditch it now?”

Anyway, it’s time for another cup of coffee and getting ready for work. If anyone wants to leave me with some insight into major levels of body modification, I invite you to do so.

