Day 4 in Dallas went pretty smoothly! I got my first taste of traffic and it didn’t suck that bad, but I do worry that yesterday was nothing compared to what it will be today. 😦

Also, after the panic, anxiety, and nervousness finally passed about being in a new store, I finally looked up and realized that up a floor and across from me is a Lush store.  This is where, in a movie, you would hear that little “ahhh” of angels singing, signifying a golden moment, a parting of the clouds and a holy grail being illuminated. OK so Lush isn’t -that- fantastic, but let me tell you, I was thrilled!

I went over right after work, just to look around and see all the things I’ve never gotten to see or experience in person. It was awesome. It’s such a bright, soapy, change from my black and white store! The ladies there were exceptionally nice, they weren’t pushy, they just told me about products and let me ask questions and choose what i wanted.

I ended up getting the Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes deal… its 9 products for $25! At some point later, once I’ve used the stuff, I’ll probably write in more detail about the products I took home, but this morning I’m just waking up and trying to counter act a nose and throat that are determined to convince me that I’ve caught a cold, and random facts and excitedness are all I have patience for at this point.

So far I haven’t done any major socializing in Dallas, I haven’t even been to church yet, and I wont get to go this weekend either because I work during all of the services of the one church I know how to get to. Right now I’m just kind of exhausted. All of my energy has gone into trying to make my apartment feel homey, and coping with new work people, new clients, new everything. At the end of the day I want to sit on my ridiculously comfortable bed, make myself dinner, and read until I can’t hold my eyes open anymore and then sleep.

Next week I’ll have days off that don’t have to be centered on moving or unpacking and I can get some real rest and then after that… well then after that we’ll see what we see. It’s not that I don’t want to make friends, it’s not that I don’t want to be social, it’s just that there are some specific things that I don’t want to do. For instance, I am completely over going out. When I entertain the thought of social activities these days, I picture things that take place during the day time, things that are intellectually and spiritually stimulating, things that don’t involve stumbling drunk or being hit on by random people who are stumbling drunk. Which brings me to another point….

I am over dating… which is honestly old news because I’ve been over dating for about a year and a half now. Oddly, at least I considered it odd, upon moving to Dallas I received an uncanny amount of relationship advice. It was as if the whole point of moving at this point in my life, nearly 29 and single,  was to enter a new dating pool in which I might have more success. *sigh*

I’m not going to go all I Kissed Dating Goodbye on you were, but something I’ve learned in the last 10 (it kind of hurts to realize that 10 years ago I was 19) years of my life is that dating doesn’t work.  Also, that’s the last thing in the world I need right now. Right now I need friends, both male and female. I wish that somehow I could instill in the words I type the sincerity I feel when I use that word friend. Never in my life have I needed real friends the way I need them right now. I need friendship that will make downtime in Dallas less empty and more normal. I need people to hang out with, to talk to, see movies and live music with, without there being any pressure for anything else. I can’t stress that point enough.

So no, I don’t want to go out, I don’t want to date, and I do want to take naps and read books and laugh at ridiculous things on tv because I think my sense of humor might be strange. Maybe.

As this post has now lost all of it’s flow, I think I’ll finish my waffles and go get ready for work. This entire weekend we have to wear pink wigs. Prepare yourself for pictures.

