This evening I went to see Leap Year with my sister, Kristin. I’ve been waiting, since I saw the first preview, to see this movie.

I wouldn’t call myself a hopeless romantic. Not really. I can freely admit that I like romantic things, but I don’t heart Valentines Day just because it’s the day to celebrate love and I just know that someday when my prince charming finds me that finally Valentines Day and all other sappy things on this earth with hold true meaning for me.

No. Not me at all. I don’t want over the top… I like romance that’s believable, if that makes sense. Maybe it doesn’t. I mean, maybe the whole idea of romance to begin with is something over the top that isn’t likely to happen. At this point in my life, I’m really not sure anymore.  Anyway, there are specific types of romantic comedy that I really like, and I indulge my gooey side for those special stories, I let my heart flutter, and hope, and even some times ache just a little for what I don’t have.  Leap year turned out to be one of those.

We’ll start with the fact that the lead male role is played by Matthew Goode, a

Oh holy mother of good looking

favorite of mine, though barely anyone knows who he is. The leading female role is played by Amy Adams, whom, for reasons I don’t quite understand, I’ve been told should play me if ever a movie was made about my life. So right from the start… very attractive man (with an Irish accent)(Irish accents are an immediate high ranking from me), plus a girl who is me-ish in a redheaded sort of way. This is a good way to begin.

I wont bore those of you who don’t ever plan on seeing the film, or spoil it for those who do, with details about the plot, I’ll keep it simple. Long story short, girl who insists on routine and order and perfection, meets boy from another another country, unplanned, unorganized, and over-all pain in the ass, and fall in love. Love like they fit together like puzzle pieces. Love like he watches her and really sees her and smiles that smile. Love like she feels more like herself when he’s standing next to her. The thing that really gets me, the thing that makes this movie one that I’ll buy the second it’s released on dvd, the thing that  gives my heart that first gooey then achey feel, is this:

At the very end, girl who got everything she ever wanted exactly the way she planned realized that her plan wasn’t what she needed, so she flies thousands of miles to propose  a new plan, a plan not to make plans, a plan to just “give this thing a chance and see where it goes”  and in response her scruffy, blue-eyed, Irishman, shakes his head and walks away. And after she runs away, thinking she’s been rejected, he finds her, offers his mother’s ring and says, ” I don’t want to not make plans with you, I want to make plans with you.”

And that’s what it all comes down to. I want someone to want to make plans with me, but apparently that’s a pretty tall order around here. I can understand why things like romantic comedies seem like poison to some people, setting girls up with unrealistic expectations. But come on, these ideas have to come from somewhere!! Maybe I need to be keeping an eye out for Irish men. Maybe they have some sort of cultural wisdom and romantic sensibility that American men aren’t equipped with?  I just don’t get it.

