Happy Monday everyone! My Monday is especially happy because I have it off and get to finish my Christmas shopping. I honestly consider this day the calm before the storm because the rest of the week is going to a shopping tsunami.

I’m working on some new things, some bigger things for prettysmartblog . I had hoped to get them up here in the next couple of weeks, but I’m beginning to think that it might be a better idea to shoot for the beginning of January, just so that I don’t exhaust myself. Working retail during the holidays sucks the life right out of people. This is my second year and it’s already so much worse than the last!

On a completely different note, something I’ve noticed a lot of and have been rather perplexed by with the increase in traffic at my job, is older women who dress like teenage girls. A quick google image search surfaces this (to the right) gem, and to be honest, this isn’t nearly the worst that I’ve seen.

I remember very clearly the first time I’d been to an indoor mall after not setting foot in one in years. It was right before my best friends bachelorette party and we were looking for a dress for her to wear. We’d all sort of given up malls as a result of meeting some level of adulthood I guess and were stunned by finding ourselves suddenly and completely surrounded in teenage girls. We passed store after store, writing them off one by one based by the number of teenagers we could count inside without ever setting a foot inside. The obvious impulse was not to want to be caught in the same blouse the 12-year-old in Gossip Girls was wearing.

That was almost 3 years ago now, and the impulse has not changed, if anything it’s gotten a good deal stronger. So I’m assuming that these 40+ year old women I’m helping at work with “JUICY” stretched across their bums is the female equivalent of the male mid-life-crisis sports car?

I don’t think that there’s anything wrong with being current at any age, certainly there’s nothing wrong with being classic, but I think there comes a point where being trendy needs to stop. This is a point where things can get a little fuzzy because I feel like there’s a world of difference between trend and being trendy.

I see trend as being descriptive of what designers are doing… for instance if we’re in a season of seeing a lot of dresses, a lot of fur, a lot of blacks… and so on. I see being trendy descriptive of what’s popular within a certain age group.

It makes sense to me that a woman of any age should want to stay current, however, it makes utterly no sense to me for women above the age of 25 to take their dressing cues from trendy teenagers. I just don’t get it at all. And that’s all I have to say for now.

