Hello from way over here in I-never-get-to-update-my-blog-land! I’ve been busting my butt at work lately and sleeping and eating in between, but I don’t want to go to long without saying something, so here I am.

Today I want to take a moment to talk about glitter. One of my personal passions. I’m a fortunate almost-29-year-old who gets the opportunity to wear glitter 5 days out of the week, and through the month of December it’s actually a requirement where I work.

Being a connoisseur of glitter, of sorts, I find that there are a lot of different aspects of glitter that make it wear-worthy… or not. Personally my preference is for loose glitters. Glitter in a shadow makes me antsy because I don’t have the option to opt out of the glitter with the eyeshadow shade and I find that limiting (because let’s face it, there are some days that just aren’t glitter days, even for a girl like me), gel glitters frustrate me because I feel  the gel and the drying process actually compromises the sparkle effect and you get less of a shine from gel glitters, plus, gel ruins all of the work that you’ve just done blending when you apply it over shadow.

Loose glitter, however, is something that I feel is the perfect medium for almost all glitter applications. It gives the feel of wearing diamonds without the price tag. I love it. However, as I said in the title, not all glitters are created equal, and this is true especially within the loose glitter category.

Glitter , as we know it, was invented by a guy named Henry Ruschmann in 1934 on his farm in Bernardsville, New Jersey and now the company he started, Meadowbrook Inventions,  is the worlds leading manufacturer and distributer of glitter.  Way, and I do mean way before that ancient civilizations were known to have used flaked mica as glitter for decorating their bodies and other various things.

The ingredients for glitter are kind of complicated, and if you’re really curious I suggest you do what I’ve been doing for the past half hour and google it. The important thing to know is that glitter in the cosmetic industry is not made of glass and will not cut your eye ball. With that, it should go without saying that it’s not a good idea to substitute your cosmetic glitter for craft glitter. I know it may look the same and it costs less, but trust me, there is a science involved in making those shiny micro-particles safe for your face so save your pennies and get the stuff that’s meant to go near your eye.

I’ve tried everything from costume makeup glitters to glitters from Sally’s and Clair’s and I get to work with Make Up Forever glitter every day. I find that there are a couple of things you should consider when choosing glitters. First, a common rule within cosmetics, you do actually get what you pay for.  While application technique can play a huge role in how well something like loose glitter works, another huge part is contributed by the quality of the glitter it’s self. Though you can’t actually feel the difference in the weight of a glitter, the weight makes a tremendous difference in how the glitter performs. Quality loose glitter should more closely resemble sand it’s container than it resembles rice. I know that might sound a bit strange, but take a moment to think about it. Sand, while loose, moves together, almost like a mass even though it’s made of individual grains. Individual pieces of rice, on the other hand, tend to separate and scatter. With loose glitters, a glitter that more closely resembles sand is going to apply more evenly and adhere better to the skin, while a glitter that tends more to resemble rice is more likely to be difficult to apply and will often drop (into eyes, onto cheeks) and generally isn’t going to work as well on your face or body.

Of the loose glitters I’ve tried, I really love Make Up Forever loose glitters across the board, but they do come at a price. The bigger glitters run around $13, which isn’t too bad, but the finer the glitter gets the more expensive it is. I’ve found some loose glitters from Clair’s that I’ve really enjoyed, however the glitters at Sally’s are not so hot. They’re only $0.99, which is nice, but they are really difficult to work with, which is a shame.

I’m looking forward to trying out a couple of moderately priced loose glitters in the near future. http://www.occmakeup.com makes a wide variety of loose glitters for $10 that look promising and (as featured above) Grl Cosmetics (you can find them at http://store.glittergaloreandmore.com) makes some really pretty loose glitters for $5.95. They have an impressive range of color and look very promising. Once I’ve tried both I’ll update this post to tell you how they compare.

No matter what your age, what type of skin you have, whether you are a natural girl, or the more glamorous type, give some loose glitter a try, it’s not going to hurt you or change who you are.  Everyone has a little sparkle inside… let it come out!

