Yesterday Lucky Magazine updated their Facebook status about Rodarte’s collection created for Target, launching Dec. 20th. Rodarte designer sisters Kate and Laura Mulleavy, have created a 55-piece collection for Target’s Go International project.

adekota fanning

Look at Dakota Fanning all gown up in Rodarte for Target leopard print mini-dress in Teen Vogue

If you’re a frequent Target shopper, like myself, you’ll have probably noticed short appearances by designers like Anna Sui, Jovovich-Hawk, and Rogan. Go International features new or young designers, all the collections are limited edition and only stay on the floor for 45 days.

Shoppers are starting to get a sneak-peak and bits and pieces of the collection, the picture to the left was featured in the December issue of Teen Vogue  ( Miss Dakota Fanning, I’m so proud!) there have also been sightings of this nude lace cocktail dress and black halter cocktail dress (I’m already in love with both pieces.)

Of Target’s ability to translate Rodarte’s delicate style for the mass market, they claim to have stayed true to the spirit of the lebel, providing attention to detail and a lot of textures.

I’m not usually a fan of decent labels mixing with discount retailers, even though I understand it from a $$$ angle, it still makes me think less of a brand in certain venues. A good example would be BCBG’s designer Max Azria’s recent collaboration with Miley Sirus for Wal-Mart. I’m a big fan of BCBG and I was honestly horrified when I saw this.

Now, it could be partially due to prejudices on my own part ( I can’t stand Wal-Mart or Miley Sirus), but it seems to me that Target has done a really good job of setting themselves apart in the discount retailing market. In my mind, at least, Target ranks quite a few tiers above any other discount retailer I’ve been, with Wal-Mart falling at the very pit of the bottom of that list. There are no circumstances under which, not even out of desperation, I would turn to Wal-Mart for a fast fashion fix, yet I can feel ok, no,  good about trusting Target to follow trend and not lead me too far astray.

I’m not claiming that they’re perfect, there were a few months during the summer when I despaired over the abundance of 80’s inspired mini-dresses and lace leggings, but even in the midst of all of that, I never felt as though a label was mudding it’s name by mixing it with Target.

With all of that in mind, I’d like to take a moment to thank Target for it’s commitment to keeping it’s guests abreast of the latest trends, at prices that don’t suck the life out of us, and for being a discount retailer with some pride. I heart you Target!

