My local Lush store recently gave me the opportunity to try several of their Fresh Face Masks and of course I was thrilled!  I’m a mask-lovin’ girl so I might have over masked this week, but I just couldn’t wait to try them, besides, as all of you Lush-savvy readers out there know, the Fresh Face Masks have a pretty short life, so they need to be used in a timely fashion. Don’t let that expiration date scare you though, Lush Fresh Face Masks are a.) just that fresh, you don’t expect the produce in your fridge to last forever do you? And b.) the expiration date should motivate you to actually use the mask! In my cosmetic experience, this failure to use habit is the leading reason my clients aren’t in love with their skincare. I can personally guarantee that your skincare wont work if you don’t use it. On to reviews…

Up first we have Cupcake Fresh Face Mask-

  • This mask helps to balance oil on the skin and calm breakouts.
  • Features Rhassoul mud (cleansing), cocoa butter, linseed and cocoa powder (softening), peppermint, spearmint and sandalwood oils (balancing).
  • Smells like chocolate and makes you look like you’ve dipped your face in chocolate frosting.
  • Can be worn 5-10 minutes.

My skin felt really clean after this mask and I really enjoyed the chocolatey smell!

As our  runner-up we have Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask-

  • This mask brightens, soothes, and cleanses skin.
  • Features blueberries, chamomile, irish moss, almond oil, and calamine.
  • Smells like fruit and looks like clay.
  • Can be worn 5-10 minutes

This was a perfect before bedtime mask, as it’s effects are very soothing. This would also be ideal for someone with fairly sensitive skin.

And finally, the winner of our Miss Fresh Face Mask pageant, Love Lettuce Fresh Face Mask-

  • It’s an exfoliate mask!
  • Features almond shell (polishing), almond oil, seaweed gel (softening), lavender essential oil (soothing) and Fuller’s Earth (“magical cleansing and tightening action”).
  • Smells kind of like dirt to me, but not in a bad way and it’s green like guacamole.
  • Can be worn 5-10 minutes.

This was by far my favorite of the masks I tried! I love exfoliating masks and I love non-chemical exfoliating masks even more. This mask left my skin feeling baby soft and smooth, very clean, and magically firm (they do not lie, my friends).  I would say this mask would be ideal for anyone who’s looking for a good exfoliator or concerned with the signs of aging.

So there you have it! I highly recommend all three masks and encourage everyone to try one soon, and remember, if you’re already using Lush products if you take 5 clean black pots back to the store, you’ll get one of these babies for FREE!

